Alec D. Gallimore

Alec D. Gallimore


Associate Dean for Academic Programs and Initiatives at the Horace H. Rackham School of Graduate Studies and Director of the Plasmadynamics and Electric Propulsion Laboratory, Professor Gallimore’s primary research interests include electric propulsion, plasma diagnostics, space plasma simulation, electrode physics, and hypersonic aerodynamics/plasma interaction. He has extensive design and testing experience with a number of electric propulsion devices including Hall thrusters, ion engines, arcjets, 100-kW-class steady MPD thrusters, and multimegawatt pulsed coaxial plasma accelerators. He has implemented a variety of probe, microwave, and optical/laser plasma diagnostics, and has graduated 16 Ph.D. students and 11 M.S. students in the field of electric propulsion. Professor Gallimore has more than 190 archival journal articles and conference papers, and 2 book chapters in electric propulsion. Professor Gallimore is also director of the NASA-funded Michigan Space Grant Consortium and is an advisor to the United States Air Force Scientific Advisory Board.

Specializations & Research Interests
Electric Propulsion, Space Propulsion, Plasma Physics

Ph. D. 1992 Princeton University
M.S. 1988 Princeton University
B.S. 1986 Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI)

Society Memberships
Associate Fellow of AIAA (Intrnl. Electric Propulsion Technical Committee)
ASEE (American Society for Engineering Education)
Assoc. Editor for AIAA (Journal of Propulsion & Power)
Defense Science Board Task Force on Force Modernization 1999
Secretary for Electric Rocket
Propulsion Society (ERPS)
Member of Defense Science Study Group (DSSG) 1995-1997
Member, Air Force Scientific Advisory Board, 2001-2005
Advisor, Air Force Scientific Advisory Board, 2005-present
Sigma Gamma Tau
Sigma Xi
Tau Beta Pi

Honors and Awards
Tau Beta Pi Teaching Award (1988, 1999)
College of Engineering Team Research Excellence Award (1999)
College of Engineering Teaching Excellence (1992)
College of Engineering 1938 E Award
Sigma Gamma Tau Teaching Award (1989, 1995)
NSF Presidential Young Investigator (1988)
NASA Special Achievement Award (1989)
NASA Faculty Fellow Award (1993)
Silver Shaft Award (Instructor of the Year), by the University of Michigan Sigma Gamma Tau Chapter (1994, 1996)
Faculty Fellowship Award, by the University of Michigan Rackham Graduate School (1994)
Crystal Image Award for Technical Achievement from the National Technical Association (NTA) for Science Educator of the Year (1994)
Class of ’38E Junior Faculty Outstanding Achievement Prize by the University of Michigan College of Engineering (1996)
Associate Fellow-American Institute of Astronautics and Aeronautics (AIAA) (1999)
Best Paper Award in Electric Propulsion at the 1998 Joint Propulsion Conference, by AIAA (1999)
Faculty Career Development Award, by the University of Michigan (2000)
The Aerospace Engineering Award for Outstanding Accomplishment (2002)
Outstanding Achievement in Academia, National GEM Consortium (2004)
Trudy Huebner Service Excellence Award, by the University of Michigan College of Engineering (2005)
Harold R. Johnson Diversity Service Award, by the University of Michigan (2005)
Decoration for Meritorious Civiliam Service, by the United States Air Force (2005)
Arthur F. Thurnau Professorship, by the University of Michigan (2006)

Teaching Interests
Spacecraft Systems Design (Aero 483)
Electric Propulsion (Aero 536)
Management of Space Systems Design (Aero 583)

Positions Held at Michigan
Professor 2004-
Associate Professor 1998-2004
Associate Professor of Applied Physics 1998-2004
Director, Michigan Space Grant Consortium [NASA], 2000-present
Head of the Plasmadynamics and Electric Propulsion Laboratory (PEPL)
Assistant Professor of Applied Physics (1994-1998)
Assistant Professor 1992-1998

Share thisShare on Google+Share on LinkedInTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook